ICMN • UMR 7374
Nanostructure Materials Confinement Interfaces Laboratory

The ICMN (Nanostructure Materials Confinement Interfaces) is a research unit of the CNRS and the University of Orléans whose activities fall within materials science. Their common thread is divided matter, which includes nanoparticles, structured nanomaterials, composites, porous environments (certain carbons and silicas, clay environments, monument stones), confined or self-organised complex fluids, colloidal suspensions, polymers, biomaterials, etc.

stimulated release of cosmetic bioactive compounds

Cosmétosciences research topics:

Naturalness and eco-friendly processes

The ICMN has placed itself at the heart of a multi-scale physicochemical approach that studies and enhances the intermediate scales of matter, between a nanometre and a millimetre, using tools that are for experiments (synthesis, transformation), for laboratory and Synchrotron characterisation (physical and chemical) and for modelling (Monte Carlo, molecular and Brownian dynamics).

The ICMN’s recognised skills and expertise in the study of divided matter, extend from fundamental problems (structure, porous texture, organisation, functionalities, thermodynamics, temporal evolution, dynamic and mechanical properties) to potential applications (storage and conversion of energy, solar energy, decontamination of water and protection of the environment, sustainability of heritage, catalysis, aviation, cosmetics, health, nanofluidics and nanomagnetism).

ICOA research is conducted by 2 teams. One team is involved in Cosmétosciences

Nanostructured and Confined Systems team
In condensed matter, the reduction of the dimensionality and size introduces changes in structural and thermodynamic behaviours caused by the effects of the surface, the interface or the finite quantity of matter. Moreover, the state of confinement of the matter modifies la dynamics and the diffusion properties of the species.

In this priority area, it is not only a question of the way the thermodynamics controls the structuring or the 2D or 3D organisation (self-organised systems, complex fluids) but also of how the confinement of the matter (nanoparticles, confined fluids) influences the thermodynamics or the dynamics of the systems. The activities of this area therefore focus on the determination of the relationships between the structure, the thermodynamics and, in some cases, the kinetics and/or the dynamics of the nanostructured and confined systems.


ICMN – UMR 7374
CNRS – University of Orléans

1b rue de la Férollerie

CS 40059

45071 Orléans cedex



Experimental facilities

Development of materials

  • Ultra-vacuum deposition
  • Electrospinning/Electrospray
  • Ozonation
  • Screen printing
  • Spin-Coating and Dip-Coating

Chemical analysis – solutions

  • TOC NT analysis
  • High Performance Liquid Chromatography
  • Zeta Potential
  • UV-Visible Spectroscopy

Chemical analysis – solids

  • CHNS/O elemental analysis
  • Thermogravimetric analysis Differential scanning
  • calorimetry
  • Quartz crystal microbalance
  • Transmission Electron Microscopy
    (Surface spectroscopy XPS-UPS->doc878]
  • Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy
  • UV-Visible Spectroscopy

Physical analysis

  • thermal analyses (TPD/DSC)
  • Thermogravimetric analysis Differential scanning Calorimetry
  • Ellipsometry
  • Granulometry
  • Atomic Force Microscopy
  • Zeta Potential
  • Rheology
  • Force/Optical Tensiometer
  • Viscometry


  • X Ray Diffraction
  • Small-angle X ray scattering SAXS/GISAXS (/WAXS)
  • Atomic Force Microscopy
  • Transmission Electron Microscopy


  • Small-angle X ray scattering SAXS/GISAXS (/WAXS)
  • Atomic Force Microscopy
  • Transmission Electron Microscopy
  • Helium pycnometry


  • Atomic Force Microscopy
  • Transmission Electron Microscopy
  • Profilometry

Are you looking for a specific laboratory or contact?
Select one of the 2 criteria, or both at the same time

  • contacts
    • contacts
    • Lavinia BALAN
    • Patrick BARIL
    • Hélène BENEDETTI
    • Pascal BONNET
    • Franck BONNIER
    • Stéphane BOSTYN
    • Ayache BOUAKAZ
    • Frédéric BURON
    • Sabine CARPIN
    • Agnes CHARTIER
    • Igor CHOURPA
    • David DA SILVA
    • Emilie DESTANDAU
    • Catherine GRILLON
    • Samuel GUILLOT
    • Christophe HANO
    • Pierre LAFITE
    • Frédéric LAMBLIN
    • Arnaud LANOUE
    • Eric LESELLIER
    • Emilie MUNNIER
    • Reine NEHMÉ
    • Chantal PICHON
    • Karen PLÉ
    • Eric ROBERT
    • Sylvain ROUTIER
    • Benoit SAINT PIERRE
    • Marie SCHULER
    • Christophe SINTUREL
    • Arnaud TATIBOUËT
    • Béatrice VALLÉE-MÉHEUST
  • Laboratories
    • Laboratories
    • CEMHTI (Conditions extrême et Matériaux : Haute Température et Irradiation)
    • BBV (Biomolécules et Biotechnologies Végétales)
    • CBM (Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire)
    • GREMI (Groupe de Recherches sur l'Energétique des Milieux Ionisés)
    • IBRAIN (Imagerie & Cerveau)
    • ICMN (Interfaces, Confinement, Matériaux et Nanostructures)
    • ICARE (Institut de Combustion, Aérothermique, Réactivité et Environnement)
    • ICOA (Institut de Chimie Organique)
    • LBLGC (Laboratoire de Biologie des Ligneux et des Grandes Cultures)
    • NMNS (Nanomédicaments et Nanosondes)
    • SIMBA (Synthèse et Isolement de Molécules Bioactives )